01275 843825

2023 SocEnv Awards Winners Revealed!

Date Published: 07/06/2023

2023 SocEnv Awards Winners Revealed!

Society for the Environment (SocEnv) has celebrated the achievements of the environmental professional community by announcing the winners of the 2023 SocEnv Awards and hosting two World Environment Day lectures. 

There were a record number of entries in the 2023 SocEnv Awards which is an incredible step forward and showcases the number of outstanding environmental professionals working hard to protect, preserve or enhance the environment. The Society is delighted to announce the highly deserving and exceptional awards winners of the prestigious 2023 SocEnv Awards.

The finalists were selected from an array of excellent nominations, received for environmental professionals working in agriculture, environmental management, energy, event management, water supply, transport, waste, engineering, and more.

The Results:

2023 Environmental Professional of the Year Winner

Claire Wansbury CEnv, Fellow and Technical Director – Atkins Ltd

Claire Wansbury CEnv reacted to winning the Environmental Professional of the Year award by saying that “it’s a real honour and privilege, thank you.”

2023 Environmental Professional of the Year Runner up

Julie Duffus CEnv, Sustainability Senior Manager – International Olympic Committee

2023 Registrant Newcomer of the Year Winner

William Oliver CEnv, Farmer – A H Oliver and Son

William Oliver CEnv was not expecting the win as he reacted to the announcement by saying “I’m a bit shocked to be honest… I never thought it could happen.”

Our 2023 award winners and runner up are highly deserving of this achievement, and we are proud to highlight the incredible work, passion and drive that is shown through their efforts in the environmental field. A huge congratulations to them all and to our incredible finalists as well.

A showcase of expertise

Adding to the celebration, the virtual event also saw a number of insightful lectures on this year’s global World Environment Day theme of ‘Solutions to Plastic Pollution’. These lectures, covering topics such as plastics vs food waste and household plastic waste recycling, were delivered by Chartered Environmentalists Catherine Burrows CEnv, Head of Waste Management for Sodexo UK & Ireland and Victoria Murray CEnv, Associate Director for Tetra Tech.

Professor Will Pope HonFSE CEnv gave the annual Honorary Fellow Lecture, reflecting on his successful time as Chair of SocEnv.

The event will be published on the Society’s YouTube channel next week.

New Board Members

Directly prior to the SocEnv Awards and Lectures, the Society held it’s 19th AGM. Three new Board Members were elected as follows:

  • Peter Egan CEnv – Requirements Manager, UK Strategic Command
  • Lara Young CEnv – Group Head of ESG, Cromwell Property Group
  • Sue Buxey – Director of Operations & Professional Standards, IEMA

Find out more about the new Board Members, here.